Chronarch MGL
B

Based on 43 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for light lures
  • Easy to set up for different lure weights
  • Cast in the wind and casting controls work great
  • Durable but not as durable as other reels
  • Function of the reel is not as good

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Best reel for the $
I own several MGLs... lite weight, smooth & high quality! I highly recommend these reels.
5/5
KK TX
2 years ago
cabelas.com
Read more
DC or MGL
I have a chronarch mgl xg. I'll say it time and time again, I really horribly dislike DC tech for regular anglers who aren't needing tournament accuracy or aren't using techniques that would require a lot skill to accomplish. If it's for feeling cool and all that, sure go ahead.
NegativeNegative
7
darkgreensweater
reddit.com/r/Fishing_Gear
Read more
Bad a$$
Best reel ive had in my hands. Its construction improves sensitivity. Its light, its Shimano tough, easy to dial in and enough drag to get the job done. I pair it on 7'2 med/hvy (2020) zodias and its my favorite set up. Has good line capacity. Nothing bad you could say about this one. I didn't read ...
5/5
Ben Maddox
2 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Sweet Reel
I purchased this reel to cast light lures, easy to set up for different lure weights. I have used it casting in the wind and the casting controls work great.
5/5
Catfish73
2 years ago
cabelas.com
Read more
........Meh
For $250.00 I was extremely disappointed in the durability and the function of the reel. When casting and tilted to the left there was no problem. However, when casting and leaning to the right it made friction noises and would stop way prematurely. I'm sure that not all reels did this, but it didn'...
2/5
richard stubbs
3 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Bad
This thing is the best and the worst I caught a 8 pound bass on it but it sucked because I wanted a record of 13 pounds and I've had it for 12 years and only caught 900 8 pounders. Very disapointing
1/5
scott martin
1 year ago
cabelas.com
Read more
youtube
Shimano Chronarch MGL Casting Reel Review
Super smooth, super comfortable and one of my new favorite bait casters. Guys if you guys like these reviews, let us know you know we have a lot of tackle that Matt had accumulated throughout the years and we spent a lot of time on the water playing with all different all different brands and all different gear. So if you guys like these type of videos the more in-depth like the reviews and stuff let us know down in the comments section
PositivePositive
TacticalBassin
2 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
Great Reel what action
I caught big fish on it and it didn’t break Cabela’s an awesome store
5/5
Nategod
4 months ago
cabelas.com
Read more
Which do you like better?
I'm going expride over dobyns, unless you're dropping $400 then I feel dobyns puts better components in the rod.
Reels are eh. I'm not a fan of the curado or DC tech in general.
I'd go chronarch mgl or daiwa tatula before a curado or a lews.
NegativeNegative
5
darkgreensweater
reddit.com/r/Fishing_Gear
Read more
Excellent purchase
Excellent buy. Lightweight, smooth and casts like a dream.
5/5
Robert M
1 year ago
cabelas.com
Read more

Specs

Reel Type

Casting

Retrieve

Left Hand

Gear Ratio

8.1:1

Line Retrieve per Crank

34"