Google Pixel 4a
A

Based on 287 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Made for the basics
  • Great camera
  • 128 GB of storage space
  • Fingerprint sensor
  • Unlocked bootloader

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Android phones are sending significant amount of user data with no opt-out [pdf]
I've been using the Pixel 4a 5G for about 6 months with MicroG and Lineage. Works really well. Other than Whatsapp and Google Maps I don't miss anything, but those apps have alternatives too.
Anyone else staying to have second thoughts about continuing as a Google user in the future?
Like, don't get me wrong, i just bought a pixel 4a 5g and I'm loving it. I'll use this phone until it's time to move on. That being said, the revelation that future pixels will no longer feature unlimited cloud storage, along with Google's recent dropping of previously available consumer-friendly features elsewhere (looking at you, photos app), and now just today seeing them say that the Google Pay app is going to start charging fees for instant transfers... And then there's the big uptick in ads on YouTube that started recently, as well as the terms of service saying they're going to start putting ads on small creators videos without adding them to the partners program. I'm really seeing Google move in this direction of "taking features away one inch at a time, not giving you anything in return, and hoping you don't notice.".
NegativeNegative
1108
supercakman
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more
The Pixel 4a is our 2020 Smartphone of the Year - Android Police
Posting this from my 4a. Great phone, absolutely loving it so far!
PositivePositive
485
Frankie7474
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/Android
Read more
I’m one of you now. And I am LOVING it.
Perfect. Small enough to be one-handable, but big enough to view content without feeling claustrophobic. I have heard of quality control issues on Pixels, but my 4a came to me flawless. Hopefully it stays that way, knock on wood.
PositivePositive
377
LesPaulII
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more
Verdict - The king of the mid-range
Test device provided by: Google GermanyWith the Pixel 4a, Google succeeds in creating a suitable smartphone that has many strengths and only minor weaknesses. Both the system and the battery performance are good for a mid-range smartphone, and the 128 GB of internal storage space results in the lack of a microSD card slot not being that big of an issue.
PositivePositive
7 months ago
notebookcheck.net
Read more
Pixel 4a experiment day 4--Does not involve science
This isn't my first foray into the world of stock Android; I've previously owned a Nexus 6 and 9, and a Pixel 2 XL. My initial thoughts on the 4a is that it's a bargain, the OS is quite smooth, the display is good but not mind blowing.
PositivePositive
292
jquest71
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more
Upgraded from a 3a to a 4a
Received my new phone, a Pixel 4a, on Monday. Here's my thoughts so far.
NeutralNeutral
249
rd3160
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more
Pixel 4a Review: Superb smartphone on a budget - 9to5Google
The 4a is also appealing because it's the perfect size. I have zero issues with having a plastic phone - I want a phone that won't shatter or look like shit if I go without a case. Google seems like they knocked it out of the park with this phone.
PositivePositive
202
donnybee
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more
Stripped to just the phone essentials, but it gets them right
With the Pixel 4A, Google has an advantage: it can use its software to make the camera competitive with any phone without spending much on more elaborate camera systems.
PositivePositive
Dieter Bohn
7 months ago
theverge.com
Read more
Pixel 4a Warranty issue/scam
My 4a went into constant reboot mode and Google said I could take it to ubreakifix for warranty work. Ubreak couldn't figure out the problem after trying multiple things, including replacing the motherboard, so I was instructed to send to Google repair in Texas. I sent in the phone with my RMA info and they received the phone this morning and then this afternoon I get an e-mail from Google stating that it isn't a software issue but instead "liquid exposure , screen - display problem" which isn't covered under warranty.
NegativeNegative
169
Visible-Key6745
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/GooglePixel
Read more

Specs

Screen Size

5.81 in

Compatible Carrier/Service

Unlocked

Storage Capacity

128 in

Camera

12.2 MP