award-badge

Best for Most

Satellite Communicators

Garmin inReach Mini 2
A

Based on 82 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for solo wanderers
  • Compact and lightweight
  • Improved battery life
  • New features that the original inReach Mini lacked
  • Ability to plan and follow routes and courses

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

youtube
Watch This Before Buying // GARMIN INREACH MINI 2 Review
What's really nice about the garmin inreaches is that they have three presets that are included with your messaging.
PositivePositive
Justin Outdoors - Gear Priority
4 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
* Syncing: Most of the time it syncs via bluetooth to my phone inside the Connect app automatically, sometimes I have to refresh it or have it sync from the watch menu. Clunky at times, but only an issue once or twice. * Messaging, Phone: There is functionality to screen phone calls and texts, which has been unexpectedly great. If someone texts me or calls I can see if it's important without looking at my phone and potentially getting derailed by that.
PositivePositive
92
TheophilusOmega
reddit.com/r/Ultralight
Read more
Garmin inReach Mini 2 vs inReach Explorer+
Wrap UpThe main reason I switched from the Explorer+ to the Mini 2 can be summed up as follows:Much longer battery lifeMuch simpler, better engineered user interface.Faster GPS satellite acquisitionAutomatic TracBack function, which I plan to use more when bushwhacking off-trail.Faster chargingGarmin Explore App SupportThe Garmin inReach Mini 2 is also a lot less cumbersome to carry than the Explore+ since it’s so small and lightweight
PositivePositive
4 months ago
sectionhiker.com
Read more
Garmin’s Freedom Plan Sucks
I would rather be stuck on a barren island filled with venomous snakes than have to deal with Garmin’s subscriptions.
1/5
Mr. Martini
6 months ago
amazon.com
Read more
Tested: Garmin inReach Mini 2 Review
The inReach Mini 2 is considerably smaller than the inReach Explorer, but has the same features and does the same job.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
fieldandstream.com
Read more
Won't Leave Home Without It
I have used this on the trail once, in Zion - doing the Traverse. We did about 43 miles. Although I didn't need to route plan off trail, this was indispensible to have as a communication tool while in isolated canyons/wilderness. Battery life was great, and as advertised. For backpackers, to me this...
5/5
ejm482
4 months ago
rei.com
Read more
Garmin InReach Mini 2 - Review
Conclusion – The original inReach Mini is still a great device to carry for safety and peace of mind when you are going to be away from a Mobile Phone signal, but we really like all of the new features that have been added to the new inReach Mini 2 which make this new device so adaptable giving us some extra safety / navigation features as a backup and with the improved battery life, we are looking forward to testing the unit in the field.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
gpstraining.co.uk
Read more
Tried a few things to get him up (including using a dog sling that another hiker happened to have), but there was no way he was going to be able to hike back. Used the SOS on the Garmin and a ranger was there within the hour to help me get my guy off the trail. 110% worth it. And the pup is OK now!.
PositivePositive
20
mrskillykranky
reddit.com/r/hiking
Read more
Garmin inReach Mini 2 Review: Up to 30-Day Battery, No-Touch Tracking
From single-word messages like “Yes!” to more whimsical messages like “Wish you were here,” I was satisfied with the ease and options. With the inReach Mini 2 paired with Garmin Explore on my phone, I could type any message as if I was sending a normal text, but from the app. TracBack
PositivePositive
4 months ago
gearjunkie.com
Read more
Best Satellite Messengers of 2022 - GearLab
The Garmin inReach Mini 2 is the top messaging device on the market. It pairs with an app on your phone and can send and receive many types of messages. It offers customized individual text streams, bulk pre-programmed messages (so you don't have to type out the same "I'm doing fine" message to ...
PositivePositive
OutdoorGearLab
9 months ago
outdoorgearlab.com
Read more

Specs

Brand

Garmin

Model Name

Garmin 010-02602-00

Screen Size

1.27 Inches

Special Feature

Bluetooth