award-badge

Best for Most

Board Games

Catan
A

Based on 261 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Easy to learn and play
  • Fun for all ages
  • A gateway game
  • Still worth playing in 2019

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

youtube
Catan Review - Still Worth It?
Everyone should have to push your players Catan. If you haven't played it, you need you'd need to blow this guy, so certain as a concern 25 years 24 years off this release.
PositivePositive
BoardGameBollocks
7 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
We played Catan last night and I was miserable from start to finish. I know Catan is everyone's gold standard, but I hate it. Do you have any mega-popular games that you just can't get into?
Every time we play Catan, I know I'm going to spend the next hour+ thinking about all of the ways I could be having more fun, like jamming a rusty ice pick up my urethra. I've never had even a little bit of fun while playing it, and I cannot for the life of me see why people like it.
NegativeNegative
1292
Vitto9
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more
We played Catan last night and I was miserable from start to finish. I know Catan is everyone's gold standard, but I hate it. Do you have any mega-popular games that you just can't get into?
Catan is a common gateway drug, but I wouldn’t call it a gold standard by any means. Once I discovered more modern games I never went back to Catan.
NegativeNegative
652
Banana_Havok
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more
Families Stuck At Home Turn To Board Game Catan, Sending Sales Skyrocketing
When it was released in Germany in 1995 — as Die Siedler von Catan — it was an instant hit. It also won the Spiel des Jahres. Sales didn't taper off after a few years, as with his previous award-winning games
PositivePositive
3 months ago
npr.org
Read more
Everyone should own this cult-favorite board game—here’s why
In summation: Buy Catan if you haven’t already Credit: Reviewed / Camryn Rabideau Catan deserves a spot in everyone's game cabinet. Basically, I think everyone needs to own a copy of Catan—while it might not have the same name recognition quite yet, it’s well on its way to becoming an all-time classic board game in the same league with Monopoly and Scrabble. Don’t believe me?
PositivePositive
3 months ago
reviewed.com
Read more
What’s a game that you love but understand why others dislike?
Catan. The luck in it drives some people crazy which is totally understandable. I usually hate lucky games but Catan is the expection to rule because how interactive/competitive it is for such a simple game and expansions give it more variety, fix the core issues of the base game, and add more replayability.
PositivePositive
305
mr_mango22
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more
The Man Who Built Catan
U-Build Monopoly, released in 2010, replaces the rectangle properties with hexagonal tiles that resemble Catan’s terrain. Still, Derk Solko, a co-founder of the popular gaming forum Boardgamegeek.com, said to Wired in 2009, “If I could wave a magic wand and replace all the copies of Monopoly out there with Settlers, I truly think the world would be a better place
PositivePositive
3 months ago
newyorker.com
Read more
Reflections of a board gaming newbie
With 2 players I find the game easily stalls with the frequent robber dice rolls. Sure, with trade tokens one can easily get rid of the robber, but 7s come up way too frequently with 2 consecutive dice rolls (with only one roll of 7 considered) so we always end up at the scenario in which all trade tokens are depleted and the other player is just waiting to roll a 7 again to remove the robber. But aside from these Catan is fun to play. I liked the resource-gathering and trading aspect of the game.
NeutralNeutral
221
kahlua30
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more
The Settlers of Catan has a new name, new look for 5th edition
Klaus Teuber's famous board game The Settlers of Catan has a new look and a new name for its fifth edition. A global rebranding has shortened the title to Catan, and this newest edition is on sale now. Polygon's had some time to peruse the contents, and this edition both looks and plays great
PositivePositive
3 months ago
polygon.com
Read more
What kind of a game is Catan?
It's a good starter game to get people into the hobby or just to play with family or friends who don't play a lot of board games because it's pretty easy to learn and games tend to be neither too short nor too long. Although many board game enthusiasts find that Catan is a bit shallow and a little too luck-based, I think it's generally agreed that it's a much better experience than other big-name mainstream games like Monopoly.
PositivePositive
89
MrEmptySet
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more

Specs

Brand

Catan Studio

Material

Wood

Theme

Science Fiction

Genre

Strategy