Visconti Homo Sapiens
C

Based on 46 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for those who like pens that are "stealth"
  • A pen with great looks, feel, use of a lava basalt based
  • Revolutionised the writing world
  • Been on the wish list for a while

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Pen Review: Visconti Homo Sapiens Dark Ages — The Gentleman Stationer
Given that most Visconti pens are very wet writers, you'll probably find yourself refilling your Power-Filler pen more than you’d expect. Of all the Visconti’s I’ve had the opportunity to try at pen shows, etc., none of them spoke to me more than the Homo Sapiens Dark Age
Retailer sends pen back to Visconti. In retailer's words: "Left tine is longer than right, so it is not writing like a pen of this price should". 14 October: Retailer still have not received any information from Visconti about the nib replacement for the Homo Sapiens Dark Crystal.
NegativeNegative
525
Azehrite
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
So now I am forced to accept that I have wasted 3 months only to get back something I could have gotten earlier without the wait. Asked Visconti instead to replace to another pen - might as well make the 3 months wait count for something. I upgraded to the more expensive Homo Sapiens Dark Crystal, and Visconti tells me they cant offer any discount despite the false information they previously gave and the inconveniences already caused - whatever, i just want to put this chapter behind me. Then the Homo Sapiens Dark Crystal arrived - with defective nib.
NegativeNegative
114
Azehrite
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Visconti Homo Sapiens Bronze Age Fountain Pen Review — The Pen Addict
The Visconti Homo Sapiens is an iconic pen. It's unique and beautiful.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
High-End Pens... I GET IT NOW!!! [Noobs Read This]
Better nibs, better materials, fancier designs, heavier pens etc... Once you reach the level and price bracket of this Homo Sapiens, you are pretty much at the top of the writing experience. There are many pens more expensive than this, and all with some justification (rare materials, craftwork like for maki-e or raden pens, unique designs etc...) but I find that in terms of writing experience, there isn't much to add.
PositivePositive
25
pensandplanners77
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Please tell me I'm not crazy. This is not normal or acceptable for a new pen from a "nibsmith" right?
Seeing all these recent Visconti posts has convinced me not to purchase them anymore. I was thinking of getting a Dark Crystal Homo Sapiens but not anymore.
NegativeNegative
24
aReasson
10 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Visconti Homosapiens Evolution with the Chromium Nib
If Visconti could bring out an Oversize Steel Age with this nib for up to £200 then I could be tempted. Pros: Looks Good.Warm comfortable barrel.Comfortable in the hand.Writes nicely. Neutral: A lot heavier than a normal oversized Homosapiens.Power-vac/Vaccum filler.Uses capping threads rather than the Visconti hook lock mechanism. Cons: Far too expensive.Chromium nib option is the same cost as for the palladium one.Skeletal pattern of the nib conflicts with the wave pattern on the section and cap.Visconti testing and quality control resulting in a pen going out with a medium or broad nib labelled as a fine.
NegativeNegative
4 months ago
dappr.net
Read more
Hot take: The Visconti Homo Sapiens is too expensive. Just get a Lamy 2000
Ended up selling it. The Homo Sapiens right now priced what it is right now at over $700 is overpriced. I would not pay that. Fortunately I was able to buy it from Appelboom last year for significantly cheaper.
NegativeNegative
19
98PercentNotARobot
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
I love the feel of the material
Hands down one of the nicest writing instruments I own - very well crafted - few if any hard starts. I love the feel of the material. The clip is nice and will snug up on a shirt well. I typically carry in a case so the clip isn't a huge win/loss for me. A bit pricey, and the plunger style is a bit ...
4/5
Jason Hansen
5 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
pen review: visconti homo sapiens
00 it cost. I can highly recommend it for those who are looking for a high-end fountain pen. The Visconti Homo Sapiens is available from:
PositivePositive
4 months ago
carpedavid.com
Read more

Specs

Writing system

Ballpoint

Brand

Visconti

Filling system

Standard Ballpoint Refill

Weight

35 grams