Pilot Custom 823
A

Based on 148 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for writers
  • Clean design and elegant proportions
  • Vacuum filling system seemingly holds an entire bottle of ink
  • Smooth with some softness
  • One of the most highly-praised pens on the market

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Great writing instrument
It’s a pilot custom 823!
5/5
DMZ
4 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Pen Review: Pilot Custom 823 — The Gentleman Stationer
Unless you’re extremely sophisticated with pen repair and assembly, I’d recommend learning to live with this and NOT taking the pen apart, which voids your Pilot warranty. Where to BuyI purchased this pen from Brian and Lisa Anderson at Anderson Pens. The Custom 823 retails for $288, making it a not-inexpensive pen
What's your unpopular fountain pen opinion?
I don’t understand buying more than one or two pens at a time. It seems like it would dilute the appreciation each pen deserves. Pilot Custom 823, just doesn’t look like $300.
NegativeNegative
58
CycleTourist
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
What are your unpopular fountain pen opinions?
The Pilot 823 is an overrated, finicky pen
There I said it
NegativeNegative
50
HandstandsMcGoo
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
love this pen!!!
I’ve heard so many good things about this pen. Yet I waited so long to get it. OMG writing with it and even filling the pen bring such joy! Now I cannot imagine a day not using it.
5/5
WX on Sep 24
53 years ago
yosekastationery.com
Read more
Pilot Custom 823 Fountain Pen Review — The Pen Addict
And that is the kicker for me with the Pilot Custom 823. Aesthetically, there is no arguing its beauty. But it’s not for me
NeutralNeutral
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
I recently purchased a clear Pilot Custom 823 with a broad nib from him. The quality of his nib refinement, as well as his customer service, are top notch. Yas kept me in the loop via email through every part of the purchasing process. His prompt replies and attention to detail were extremely reassuring and very welcomed.
PositivePositive
38
CTHorticulturalist
9 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Custom 823 Review
That being said, everything about the Pilot Cutom 823 is just so damn perfect, it’s hard not to fall head over heels in love with this pen. But the fact of the matter is, I love this pen. The Custom 823 is a pen that defines what it means to be a “writer’s pen
PositivePositive
4 months ago
http:
Read more
New to reddit and fountain pens. Was wondering how often you refill fountain pens? I bought a Pilot Petit1 for ink + water sketching. I can see it's getting low on ink and I am curious how fast other people use up their ink.
It really depends, both on what you’re using it for - sketching or writing lots, and also on what filling mechanism you have. Some fountain pen converters (Sailor, for instance) have tiny ink capacity so you may need to refill more often. An eyedroppered pen, or something like a Pilot Custom 823 will have a much larger ink capacity and last longer. If you’re using your ink up quickly, refill as needed.
PositivePositive
34
baabaaredsheep
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Video Review: Pilot Custom 823 - Scrively - note taking & writing
Again, I hope the review is helpful and that you enjoy watching it! Quick Facts Pilot Custom 823, smoke black (also available in amber and clear transparent) Resin barrel, translucentVacuum (power) filler14k gold nibAvailable nib options: Fine (F), Medium (M), Broad (B)Price: ca. 335€ Picture Gallery Click on the photos to enlarge.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
scrively.org
Read more

Specs

Capped or Retractable

Capped - Screw On

Clip Material

Metal

Clippable

Yes

Converter Included

No