Salomon Speedcross 5
A

Based on 174 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for mud runs and racing on gnarly trails
  • Grippy outsole helps you find firm footing
  • Anti-debris mesh upper and gusseted tongue
  • Multidirectional lugs provide excellent grip on loose terrain
  • Breathable, stretchy upper

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Best Trail Running Shoes of 2022 - GearLab
However, this newest version has won us back over. We once again love to run in this shoe, but it still has some features that seem a bit outdated.
PositivePositive
OutdoorGearLab
5 months ago
outdoorgearlab.com
Read more
Does anyone backpack with trail running shoes? If boots, do you use actual “backpacking” boots or just something with ankle support?
I live in Pennsylvania which is one of the most notoriously rocky states to hike in and I don’t usually have a problem in trail runners with ankle support. On my second pair of Salomon Speedcross 5’s. Couldn’t recommend them more.
Great shoe
If you are looking for a shoe that will go strong with you on the trail straight out the box look no further. I do Spartan races and lots of hiking along with trail runs. That being said I was in the market for a new set of shoes to help me achieve my goals. These things are awesome. Did a 4 mile hi...
5/5
Zimm
3 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
The Toothy Salomon Speedcross 5 Is for Stomping in the Mud
The materials of the shoe feel thick and up to the challenge of a terrain shoe. The shoe has held up very well on the trail—no real snags or any damage to the shoe.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
runnersworld.com
Read more
Better feel, but same durability issues
I've owned at least 8 pair of speedcross starting with the 3s, and it really is the only shoe I wear and will continue to wear on the trail, but every single pair fails at the same point. Right at the pinky toe just above the overlay. I thought this new stretchy upper might solve this, but alas it d...
4/5
Christopher
2 years ago
rei.com
Read more
The Rundown: 100 Miles in Salomon's Speedcross 5
Fortunately, the clasp’s shortcomings have been addressed and by the time this review is published the laces will remain secure, as they always have for me with this one exception. 1 out of 100 ain’t bad. Photo: Adam Chase
NeutralNeutral
4 months ago
podiumrunner.com
Read more
Salomon Supercross Review: Best Trail Shoes - Gear Hacker
On the inside of the shoe, you will experience the comfort of the Die Cut Ortholite.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
gearhacker.com
Read more
Salomon SPEEDCROSS 5 - Test 4 Outside
Hardwear Woman, Man We used this equipment over a long period of time These are our thoughts after intensive use: Receive your answers by mail. Do you have a particular question concerning the design, use, durability or other about a tested product? We will answer your question personally.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
test4outside.com
Read more
Advice for weak ankles on beginner runner
If you're running on trails go for shoes with a low heal drop/stack such as inov8's because a lower heal means less torque in your ankle so less chance of spraining. Shoes with a high stack/heal drop aren't necessarily unstable in my experience; I've sound hoka one one speed goats to be quite stable in spite of the high stack. On the other hand salomon speedcross have a large heal drop and I found them to be really unstable.
Poor tread wear.
Really disappointed with the wear on the sole of these, great trail walking /running for comfort but less than 300k of wear really only walking on gravel and forest paths there's practically no grip left, see attached pics. Like I say, disappointing given the price.
2/5
M00nman
4 months ago
salomon.com
Read more

Specs

Trail-Running Shoe Type

Rugged-Trail

Running Shoe Cushioning

Moderate Cushion

Heel-to-Toe Drop (mm)

10

Heel Stack Height (mm)

35