Pilot Kakuno
A

Based on 166 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for a young writer
  • Affordable price
  • Plastic body
  • Low cost of replacement ink cartridges
  • Not sleek and sexy

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Pilot Kakuno Fountain Pen Review — A Better Desk
Despite first appearances, the Kakuno is a very good pen. It's certainly marketed towards children but, cute packaging and smiley nib aside, it's a great option for anyone from the first-time pen buyer to a pen fanatic who's looking for a solid performer to test inks. The Pilot Kakuno's body is made from a lightweight plastic that comes in several color combinations
PositivePositive
4 months ago
abetterdesk.com
Read more
I bought the wrong converter (Con-70) for my Pilot Metro. What pen should I buy to fit this converter? Budget is less than $200
A Pilot Kakuno, they're great budget/first fountain pen and go on Amazon for about 10 bucks. That's how I started ! Even though I don't use them much anymore
PositivePositive
75
unlucky___madman
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Review: Pilot Kakuno Fountain Pen
Anyway, this Pilot Kakuno is definitely a good buy. It cost more than just a usual pen, of course but reasonable enough compared to other fountain pens. I’ve watched from other reviews that this is a great for starters
PositivePositive
4 months ago
iamartisan.com
Read more
Which of your Pens are you Content with?
I've come to the conclusion that the Pilot Kakuno is a near-perfect pen for me. I have three with the medium nib. Aside from those, the only pen I really use is my 1.9mm stub Safari. (If I could magic an ideal pen out of the ether, it would look like the Prera but have the same grip section as the Kakuno and a barrel large enough for a Con-70.).
PositivePositive
22
SamUnfortunatelyHere
5 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Kakuno Clear Fountain Pen Review — The Pen Addict
The Pilot Kakuno is a great pen for any level of experience. The most beginning fountain pen user will enjoy its cool looks and ease of use, and the most experienced user will love the great nib and build quality. It’s an all-around great pen
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
people on a budget... when and why did you buy your first "expensive" ink?
Hi. You need to forget about expensive pens, buy what you like. I love inks and have far more inks than pens, a Pilot Kakuno is fabulous inexpensive pen that will last for years. What ever you do, don't rush the journey. Cheers
PositivePositive
16
Cryogenian97
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Kakuno
Replacement for a lost pen. Excellent everyday writing instrument. Attractive price and outstanding service.
5/5
Anonymous
1 year ago
penboutique.com
Read more
Is a fountain pen a good replacement for a ball point pen?
If you are open to plastic pens, the Pilot Kakuno takes a CON-70, the biggest converter available and might last through two lectures’ worth of note taking. Piston fillers like the TWSBI Eco have a larger ink capacity and should be enough for a day’s worth of lecture note taking. Do remember you can find affordable options for paper and ink. Using fountain pens is like finding a partner, you need to find the right combination that works for you.
NeutralNeutral
16
hedgehognpeonies
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Enso | Kakuno
This Pilot Ensō Kaküno Fountain Pen Sets are available in Cherry Blossom or Red Maple and provides you with everything you need to savor the joy of artful writing and drawing. "Kaküno" means "to write" in Japanese, and that's just what this fountain pen helps users to do featuring an appealing smile...
PositivePositive
4 months ago
pilotenso.com
Read more
Good starter fountain pen
If he’s just starting out, the Pilot Kakuno is a really good option! it’s specifically designed for kids so it can handle pressing a bit too hard in my experience. There’s a cute smiley face on the nib as well to remind you how to hold the pen, and it comes in a few fun colours. If/when your friend’s son wants to upgrade from cartridges to bottled ink, it also takes a converter.
PositivePositive
13
sugarcanefairy
7 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more

Specs

Capped or Retractable

Capped - Snap On

Clippable

No

Converter Included

No

Diameter - Grip

10.5 mm