award-badge

Budget Pick

Audio Interface

Focusrite Scarlett Solo
A

Based on 150 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Easy to set up
  • Solid sound quality
  • Able to handle both microphone and instrument inputs
  • Good price point

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Advancement to the product line
Summary: The 2i2 3rd Gen is a solid advancement to the product line. Generation III helps this brand to remain at the forefront of audio interfaces. I had sold a previous interface and found myself in a pinch where I needed to get something recorded and produced within 48 hours. I found myself with ...
5/5
Team Brule
3 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (3rd Gen) Review
Otherwise, the Scarlett 2i2 is practically a must-have for upgrading your recordings. The Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 is a simple stereo input box that's ideal for recording and mixing both music and podcasts. Sign up for Lab Report to get the latest reviews and top product advice delivered right to your inbox.
PositivePositive
Tim Gideon
4 months ago
pcmag.com
Read more
Personally, the look and quality are both qualities that I prefer over other options such as the GoXLR, the Focusrite Scarlett Solo, and the Rode AI-1. My current headphone upgrade choice is the Beyerdynamic DT77X Go, but I am not sure if these would be worth it over the HiFiman Sundaras. I am also a bit new to the audiophile scene, so there might be a few things that I don't know of that you might.
youtube
Focusrite Scarlett Solo (3rd Gen) Review & Sound Test
, That’s the downer on the Focusrite Scarlett Solo and that’s. Why? If you want a longer-lasting purchase, I would recommend you to get the Scarlett 2i2 instead of the Solo as it’s, going to give you more options.
NeutralNeutral
Reuben Chng
4 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
For the audio interface, I decided to get the Focusrite Scarlett Solo. It seems like a nice balance between price and quality, and probably good enough for my purpose. And I don't foresee ever needing a second XLR port.
Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen audio interface review
There is a bit of give with the inputs, but not enough to deter us from recommending this audio interface. Software bundle 3.5 Upon purchasing the Scarlett Solo, you’ll receive access to Ableton Live Lite, Plug-in Collective, Hitmaker Expansion Bundle, as well as a 3-month subscription to Avid Pro Tools
PositivePositive
4 months ago
higherhz.com
Read more
Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen [ 2021 Review ] - MusicCritic
Check Sweetwater PriceSummaryFor a simple and cost-efficient home set-up, the Focusrite solo is a viable route to go. With next to no investment, you can start learning all the tricks of the trade.The Scarlett Solo 3rd gen is a no-fuss 2 in, 2 out plug and play interface with phantom powering
PositivePositive
4 months ago
musiccritic.com
Read more
Recording made easy
So easy to set up . Just plug in your guitar and mic into the audio interface and start recording . I already
had Ableton's software in my PC, Retired my old M-Audio interface . That's in the garbage somewhere .
Focusrite Solo is just what I needed . Paired it up with some Presonus Studio Monitors .
5/5
Dave the Chordman
3 years ago
musiciansfriend.com
Read more
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 VS Solo (direct comparison) - Guitar Chalk
In this comparison we're looking at two similar USB audio interfaces, the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and the Scarlett Solo. The Scarlett series by Focusrite includes audio interfaces with a USB connection, while the Clarett series includes interfaces with a Thunderbolt connection, which are much more expensive.As we mentioned in the summary above, there is one significant difference between the 2i2 and the Solo:The 2i2 can accept two of either instruments or microphone (XLR) inputs, while the Solo can only accept one of each.This is done with an input that can accept either a quarter inch instrument jack, or the three-pronged XLR jack used for microphones. The main benefit here is that you have some added flexibility, perhaps if you want to record two instruments or two microphones at a time.If you don't anticipate needing to do this, you can save some money by going with the Solo, but we think for most situations - even small recording environments - it'll be helpful to have that added flexibility.This section allows you to compare pricing of the two interfaces, with some additional basic specs. Note that the Solo retails for around $120 while the 2i2 tops out at $170.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
guitarchalk.com
Read more
3rd gen requires external drivers
We use these for a community radio station, and has used the 1st and 2nd gen 2i2s for years without problems. They fail after 2-3 years of 24x7 use, but that seems reasonable. However, the 3rd gen switches to a USB C connector with lightning, which requires a separate driver. In order to deliver thi...
2/5
Forrest Guest
3 years ago
amazon.com
Read more

Specs

Interface

USB

Input Type

XLR

Frequency Response

20 Hz - 20 kHz

Dimensions

1.71” H x 5.65” W x 3.77” D