Crucial MX500 500GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD
B

Based on 110 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for a SATA drive
  • Aggressive introductory price
  • Silicon Motion 2258 and hefty DRAM cache
  • Micron 3D TLC NAND Flash memory
  • Crucial MX500 500GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Crucial MX500 2TB SATA SSD Review
The MX500 has been out several years, and while it initially launched with a single 1TB capacity, this all has changed with the lineup now filled out from 250GB to 2TB. Build quality is on par with the best SATA has to offer, and drive endurance is rated at a solid 700TBW or 383GB per day for five years.Performance in sequential workloads is easily able to hit the peaks of SATA - CDM showed 546 MB/s read and ATTO topping 526 MB/s
PositivePositive
5 months ago
tweaktown.com
Read more
The Crucial MX500 500GB SSD Review: A Second Look
With a MSRP of $139.99 and current retail prices slightly lower, the 500GB Crucial MX500 should prove to be a very popular product.
PositivePositive
5 months ago
anandtech.com
Read more
Crucial MX500 SSD Review
Also, Crucial ships their MX500 SSDs with the Acronis True HD Image software that can come in handy if you want to clone your drive. Overall, I believe the Crucial MX500 1TB and 500GB SSDs easily deserve our Elite award. Final Score 10
PositivePositive
5 months ago
relaxedtech.com
Read more
Crucial MX500 Review
Because the Crucial MX500 is a top-performing SATA drive with aggressive pricing, it's a strong choice for most everyday-use situations faced by casual upgraders. Speedy competitors like the Samsung SSD 860 Pro that cost mrore because of their higher endurance ratings are great drives in their own right, but cater to more of a niche upgrade concern. Unless you will be subjecting your drive to significant read and write operations that are outside the scope of ordinary PC activities, the MX500 should stay relevant for as long as or longer than your PC's other components
PositivePositive
Tom Brant
5 months ago
pcmag.com
Read more
Crucial MX500 500GB review: As fast a SATA SSD as you can find
99 Buy now $61.22 Buy now Crucial MX500 500GB review: VerdictGiven the modest performance of the Crucial MX300, you’d be forgiven for expecting the MX500 to deliver much of the same. However, the Crucial MX500 is as nippy a SATA SSD as you can find, without opting for a pro-level drive
PositivePositive
5 months ago
expertreviews.co.uk
Read more
Crucial MX500 500GB and 1TB SATA SSD Reviews - Legit Reviews
Some might be forced to shrink volumes to get them to fit on the newer drives, which can be done at the expense of more time. The Crucial MX500 series is a solid product offering for 2018 and handles itself just fine against rival drives. We can safely recommend this drive to those looking for a solid mainstream product with robust features
PositivePositive
5 months ago
legitreviews.com
Read more
Great Product
We have a high volume of computer repairs for our surveillance services. These hard drives work well for the use in installing the primary os.
5/5
Eddie
5 months ago
crucial.com
Read more
Failed after 5 months
Worked fine. For five months. Then it died. Always make backups! After talking to Crucial's tech support, I found out that I would have to pay for shipping if I want to replace the drive under warranty, so keep that in mind. I also found out that Crucial wants you to connect the drive to power for 2...
1/5
Ori Pessach
4 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
youtube
Crucial MX500 500GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD, up to 560MB//s - review
Crucial is a familiar name and a subsidiary of micron, so i trusted the name and wasn't disappointed out of the box. Installation time was less than an hour and the ssd drive booted up in less than 30 seconds. The cloning software that crucial provides online was very simple in the clone process
PositivePositive
Emma Kennedy
5 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
I would buy from Crucial again
Exactly what my laptop needed. Works great.
5/5
Al
5 months ago
crucial.com
Read more

Specs

Min Operating Temperature

32 °F

Max Operating Temperature

158 °F

Interfaces

1 x SATA 6 Gb/s - 7 pin Serial ATA

Compatible Bay

2.5"