Beyerdynamic  DT 990 Pro
A

Based on 243 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for critical listening
  • Excellent sound quality
  • Comfortable to wear for long periods of time
  • Easy to use controls on the ear cups
  • Good value for money

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

The 6 Best Open-Back Headphones - Spring 2022
If you're looking for headphones with better build quality, you may prefer the Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO. While they have a less comfortable fit than the Philips Fidelio X2HR, they feel sturdier and have a solid-feeling metal frame. Their sound profile is well-balanced and a bit more excited, so it delivers some extra punch in the bass range, while instruments are detailed and sibilants are bright
PositivePositive
RTINGS
5 months ago
rtings.com
Read more
I have $600 to spend on headphones.
I am leaning towards the Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro. I’ll be listening to music on my computer and will be plugged into a Schiit Magni 3+ and Schiit Modi. I have absolutely no experience with hi Fi music and am a beginner. However, I have a little money and would prefer to purchase something nice/future proof as I’ve been listening to music with headphones on for hours a day.
PositivePositive
95
twinvariable
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice
Read more
Headphones for Gaming
I am thinking about getting the beyerdynamic dt 990 pro. I will mainly use them for gaming and listening to videos and music.
PositivePositive
83
klumbass
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice
Read more
Beyerdynamic DT 990 (32 Ohm) Review
For $380, however, the Beyerdynamic DT 990 (32 Ohm) is a strong option for music lovers looking to get for an accurate sound without sacrificing depth..The Beyerdynamic DT 990 (32 Ohm) is a headphone pair for music lovers looking for an accurate, crisp sound signature that delivers deep bass without exaggerating it
PositivePositive
Tim Gideon
6 months ago
pcmag.com
Read more
Yes.
DT-990 Pro, 250 ohm, used with Sonarworks Reference (though I sometimes like them without -- these headphones sound amazing without EQ on *certain genres*.). Sometimes they sound so incredibly wide and spacious and wonderful.
PositivePositive
69
JunkyardSam
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
Not for Everyone. Please read carefully.
I currently own this (DT-990-Pro-250 Ohm), Sennheiser HD598, and AKG K702. By comparison, this headphone has V-shaped frequency (pitch) response, which means that lows and highs are more enhanced than mids. The resolution of this headphone is very good; I would say on par with Sennheiser HD598, but ...
5/5
Minghong Li
6 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Help me pick budget headphones.
Good luck!. PS: I personally recommend the DT 990 for the job, as well as the Moondrop Aria to complement the Beyer’s shiny treble with the Aria’s satisfying bass.
PositivePositive
50
fapcorn9000
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice
Read more
Longtime HD600 user, now a Beyerdynamic convert. 990s w/detachable cable mod for gaming, videos and streaming, 1990s exclusively for music. Modi 3/Magni 3 Heresy stack. I think I’m done.
I personally don’t understand the harsh criticism of the 990 pro (specifically the 250 ohm.) I think it sounds lovely, there’s a bit of a mid presence loss due to the V shaped signature, but I don’t find the highs piercing or painful. I tend to keep my volume fairly reasonable though, so that could be why.
PositivePositive
46
TheStampedeTMG
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
Thank you r/headphones, you made me so happy today
As I'm in the UK, I didn't have as easy access to the selection many in the US do without importing them and getting hit by a huge vat and customs charge. I'd narrowed down my choice to an Audio-Technica ATH-M50X, Sennheiser HD599, Phillips Fidelio X2HR, Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro and 770 Pro and the Sony WH1000XM3.
NegativeNegative
44
Rezfon
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
The 17 Best Headphone Brands - Spring 2022
The Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO are the best Beyerdynamic headphones we've tested.
PositivePositive
RTINGS
5 months ago
rtings.com
Read more

Specs

Form Factor

On Ear

Connectivity Technology

Wired

Age Range (Description)

Adult,Teen

Brand

Beyerdynamic