Audio Technica ATH-M40x
B

Based on 227 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for studio monitoring
  • Clamping force is strong
  • Super floppy, sometimes hard to control
  • Closed back.- Tuned flat (all ranges the same, not flat as in pitch)
  • Over the ear, studio look

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Audio-Technica ATH-M40x
The Audio-Technica ATH-M40x are decent headphones with outstanding, studio-quality sound. They feel sturdy and are fairly comfortable but offer no control options for your audio. They also only provide passive isolation, which might not be enough to block the noise of some listeners' commutes.
PositivePositive
Marc Henney
6 months ago
rtings.com
Read more
The best headphones i could have asked for for the price
I bought these 4 maybe 5 years ago, its my first time investing in a pair of Audio Technica's but i used to own a pair of Sony MDR750's which at the time for the price i did not believe you could get a better pair of headphones for the price range, however after 5 years of use i'm here to tell you t...
5/5
Thomas Blanc
1 month ago
amazon.com
Read more
I cried the first time I heard my new Studio Monitors. Haven´t been this much happy in a long time
The biggest quality jump I´ve done before was when I bought AudioTechnica´s ATH M40x headphones, which I was stoked and shocked of how much I lost all those years listening to shitty quality music and movies. Just by getting studio headphones, everything changed. I even saw my dad almost cry when he heard a couple songs he liked in them, I was amazed.
PositivePositive
128
NicoBaterista
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/audiophile
Read more
I got a pair of ATH-M40X recently.
Overall I like them, but *to me* the M40X sound worse than my HD599. I don't really like the highs, they sound kinda noisy in a way compared to the HD599, I don't know how to explain it. Other than that tho, I think they sound fine and unlike the HD599, can even be used outside as they isolate well enough. Not amazingly, but certainly better than any open back.
NeutralNeutral
55
Klisurovi4
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
Weekly r/headphones Discussion #105: Reactions From Others Trying Your Headphones
At first i just got some m40x. My girlfriend just thought they're nice but that she's not "into headphones". I upgraded to the HE-400i and she said that she "can't hear a difference".
NegativeNegative
29
-keras-
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
My first step into this hobby. Though, my wallet is not happy for my next purchases.
I purchased my m40x a few months ago reading many reddit posts and I'm using it since. Back then, it was not comfortable to use for a long period of time. However, it got better over time and and super happy now. The only thing I want for this headphone to change is some of the mid or high range sounds sounds very weak (I can't tell exactly which one it is).
PositivePositive
19
Osearic
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
Does anyone have headphone regret for any of their purchases or were pleasantly surpirsed by another purchase?
Only $40 yet detail and technicalities that excel beyond headphones that cost many times as much, plus very comfortable for IEMs and amazing for vocals. Another pleasant surprise were the Audio-Technica ATH-AD-500X, near perfect from the upper-midrange on up, though they can be a bit congested in the lower-midrange and bass.
PositivePositive
11
tutetibiimperes
reddit.com/r/headphones
Read more
Closed back headphones under 100$?
The Audio-Technica ATH-M40x (wired) have balanced sound but not much soundstage for less than $100. The big negative of the M40x is comfort.
NegativeNegative
10
pkelly500
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice
Read more
HyperX Cloud 2 for listening to music
It's already tuned pretty close to Harman, has a removable cable, and is pretty durable. The Shure SHR-440 is another Closed-back studio-use headphone that comes pretty close to Harman. There's other things, like Grado SR80e (Open back), Philips SHP-9500 (Open-back), and Audio Technica ATH-M40X (Closed) which are within budget and relatively popular.
Good All Around Headphones for a non audio snob?
The Audio Technica ATH-M40X seems to be a really good option for those who want something like the M50X but more affordable, usually going for under $100. Speaking of going under $100, the Philips SHP9500 is a solid choice if you want an open-backed headphone (if you are in a quiet environment) that sounds less fatiguing on the ears. The cable on these is also detachable.
PositivePositive
8
Public_Ad3826
2 years ago
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice
Read more

Specs

Form Factor

Over Ear

Material

Aluminum

Connectivity Technology

Wired

Brand

Audio-Technica