TWSBI Diamond 580
A

Based on 99 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Inexpensive for a piston filler
  • Beautiful design
  • Easy to use
  • No ink cartridge needed

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Five Stars
This is an amazing pen. It writes great and has s great balance. Great pen!
5/5
Chiguy79
8 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
time for a second twsbi
This is one of the absolute best fountain pens in its price range. Smooth nib, great design, hefty, hold a lot of ink and fills easy by twisting, disassembles easily(don't throw away the box there is a wrench and grease in the bottom of it hidden). The coolest thing about this pen is that you get to...
5/5
Whitecob
8 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
TWSBI Diamond 580 AL in Rose: It is hard starting to love this pen — Write Experience
1mm stub on this pen is not good. The nib hard starts, which means it usually takes me a stroke or two (or three) to lay down any ink on the page. Then, when the ink does flow, it erratically flows like a fire hose! I have to be careful to let the ink dry before turning the page or attempting to do any corrections
NegativeNegative
4 months ago
writeexperience.com
Read more
I tried a FPR 5.5 ultraflex in TWSBI 580 and it just didn't work - the inkflow wasn't there. Every #6 nib I placed into PenBBS struggled to function (and taking out the feed each time was a literal pain I do not want to repeat again). I bought Lamy nibs by mistake and don't even want to start down the Lamy road, so I'm leaving those untouched. I still love all the pens I have, but for future purchases, I think I'll stick strictly to the pens that take #5 or #6 Jowo nibs without much of a struggle in the feed.
NegativeNegative
23
bayroan
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
TWSBI Diamond 580AL Review — A Better Desk
I ordered the fine-nib version of the TWSBI Diamond 580AL and am positive that I made the right choice.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
abetterdesk.com
Read more
Why is TWSBI so popular?
TWBI 580 Diamond. I think people like them so much is because of the ink capacity, the weight and the overall quality of the pen. It’s nice and long and heavy (at least in comparison to the other pens I have) and holds a ton of ink.
PositivePositive
21
Skaterat2317
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pen Review: The TWSBI 580 — The Gentleman Stationer
PricingTWSBI’s current pricing structure ranges from $30 to $75. The ECO is TWSBI’s new entry-level model. Next up is the standard model Diamond 580, the Mini, the TWSBI Classic, the 580AL (featured in this review); and the Vac 700 (a vacuum filling pen)
Christmas added a few things to the collection.
I got 4 new pens, the 9 Mini Iroshizuku, and a galen leather 20 pen case. My mom decided to go overboard for the holidays. The pens I got were a monteverde Regatta, a twsbi Diamond 580AL in Prussian blue, a Twsbi eco clear EF (Only for Baystate Blue), and a Scriveiner. I'm not familiar with the last brand but it writes wonderfully.
PositivePositive
13
KingofHearts615
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
TWSBI Diamond 580 Smoke and Rose Gold Fountain Pen: A Review — The Pen Addict
Some customers complain about cracks in the plastic, poor nib quality, scratches, and other issues (such as unhelpful customer support). I hope that most TWSBI customers have a positive experience with the brand, as I have. You can purchase the TWSBI Diamond 580 in Smoke and Rose Gold from JetPens in EF, F, M, B, and 1
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
Battle Series: TWSBI DIAMOND 580 vs. TWSBI Eco
The TWSBI DIAMOND 580 Pen. “A traditional fountain pen that even modern-day society can appreciate.” Available Colors: Clear, Emerald, Purple, Silver, Nickel Grey
PositivePositive
4 months ago
truphaeinc.com
Read more

Specs

Writing system

Fountain pen

Brand

TWSBI

Nib width

Extra Fine, Fine, Medium, Broad, Stub

Nib content

Steel