Pilot Custom Urushi
B

Based on 33 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for writing
  • Aesthetically pleasing
  • Classy black color and fine-medium nib
  • Flagship of the Pilot fountain pen range
  • Made in Japan and USA

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Ultra Luxury Options: The Pilot Custom Urushi Fountain Pen — The Gentleman Stationer
You would be hard-pressed to find a better writing experience from Pilot: the urushi lacquer and lightweight ebonite barrel, combined with the comfortable shape and grip section, make this a pen I could use for hours regardless of the oversized barrel. As long as they’re relatively lightweight, larger pens can even be easier to use for longer writing sessions. And I can’t emphasize how superbly the nib writes
I bought the wrong converter (Con-70) for my Pilot Metro. What pen should I buy to fit this converter? Budget is less than $200
Lmao this post is peak /r/fountainpens.
I also vote for the Kakuno, though if you're really eager to spend the money there are a couple of the Pilot Custom pens that take the CON-70 and are very nice.
PositivePositive
193
MistMan74
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Why will you never buy a Montblanc FP?
For example, for the price of a 149, I can get the Pilot Custom Urushi, a pen made from Ebonite and hand lacquered with Urushi. I also see more value in a Pilot Custom 742, 743, 823 or a Sailor 1911 Realo than a 146. If piston fillers are your thing, the Lamy 2000 is an easy competitor despite the difference in design. Another thing is that Montblanc’s branding annoys me.
NegativeNegative
32
MihaiStef__
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Custom Urushi Vermilion
With this pen (and I checked YouTube review videos to confirm I had the correct box – being as second user pen) you get a simple blue hinged box, anonymous in looks, which is held in a plain blue cardboard box where one side folds down, and around this a cardboard sleeve. In the box, under the tray, there is an ink cartridge, a user guide, and an urushi guide, no bottles of ink or polishing cloths. So my thoughts
PositivePositive
4 months ago
dappr.net
Read more
Pilot Justus 95... Wow...
At the hardest setting, it writes like a Custom 742 (I do not have a Custom 74, but a 742 B, so). At the softest setting, it writes like a Custom 67 (which I have in F, B, and C, if not like a Custom 845, which I have in BB or a Custom URUSHI, which I have in B). At the hardest setting, there is no hard start, very stable. You see in the second picture, the ink is "reserved" between the nib and the gimmick thingy, which prevents hard starts (only when setting is the hardest).
PositivePositive
17
DokugoHikken
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
How did you decide which 4-600 dollar 'next-level' pen to get?
Truthfully though, I would save up to buy a Custom Urushi through Pensachi to get that chunky #30 nib. The 845’s nib isn’t any different from your 823, but the body is sleeker than the Custom Urushi if you prefer that. Can’t speak for any other pens. I’m pretty dedicated to Pilot in regards to modern pens.
PositivePositive
13
ogrearmor
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Custom Urushi Review - Nick's Space
certainly see where they are coming from. The difference with the Custom Urushi nib is that whilst it offers the bounce and springiness of the M1000, it responds much quicker when the pen is coming off the page, which makes consistency much better, and the writing experience is much more responsive.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
howard.im
Read more
What was your first fountain pen, and what’s your dream pen?
The biggest experience difference was the feedback of the nib and how bouncy it was in comparison to steel nibs. My dream pen? Pilot Custom Urushi.
NegativeNegative
13
Agent_Orangina_
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
No regrets
Such a pleasant writing experience and so aesthetically pleasing. I chose to go with the classy black color and fine-medium nib. This is the kind of pen that makes you want to keep writing. Great experience!
5/5
Matthew C.
5 months ago
gouletpens.com
Read more
You can choose to have one or the other, which one do you pick and why?
Oh, I would pick the Pilot Custom Urushi. I used to own one, but it's really a more expensive pen that what I feel comfortable using. The nib, though, was *divine*. It was absolutely the best nib I ever wrote with after owning 30+ gold nibbed Japanese pens and trying many others at pen meetups.
PositivePositive
6
JunkyardSam
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more

Specs

Weight

1 oz