Pilot Custom 74
B

Based on 115 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Comfortable to use
  • Easy to clean
  • Well made and durable
  • Comes with a converter

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

WOW!
Excellent pen, great ink capacity, with I got fine instead but regardless amazing
5/5
PA
6 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Review: Pilot Custom 74 Fountain Pen (F Nib)
I was able to get some pleasing shading with just a little bit of pressure. I did not flex a lot since this is not really a flex nib pen per se and I didn’t want to break the tines. Overall, the ink color is darker for me when writing from below the line but the smoothness was the same
PositivePositive
4 months ago
wellappointeddesk.com
Read more
I bought the wrong converter (Con-70) for my Pilot Metro. What pen should I buy to fit this converter? Budget is less than $200
Lmao this post is peak /r/fountainpens.
I also vote for the Kakuno, though if you're really eager to spend the money there are a couple of the Pilot Custom pens that take the CON-70 and are very nice.
Pen Review: The Pilot Custom 74 — The Gentleman Stationer
Along with the Vanishing Point, you'll often see the Custom 74 marketed as the "entry level luxury" Pilot fountain pen, and it's a great option for those looking to buy their first $150+ fountain pen, or upgrading from a steel nib to 14k gold. The Custom 74 is a good size pen, but at the same time there's no excess length or girth, and the transparent acrylic weighs very little. I can use this pen comfortably posted and unposted, though some might find it a touch too long posted
What's your unpopular fountain pen opinion?
I’ll knock Pilot too for a change. The Custom 74 looks too awfully cheap to have the price tag it has.
NegativeNegative
64
ogrearmor
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Good starter fountain pen
Your budget is way high for a good starter pen :-) lucky him. For that budget a Sailor pro gear slim, Platinum 3776, pilot custom 74 and several good pens could be his options. Depends a lot on writing style, size of the hand and other preferences. Honestly, if he has not written with fountain pens extensively yet, I would start with a Pilot Metropolitan.
PositivePositive
45
kagazkalam
8 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pilot Custom 74 Fountain Pen Review — The Pen Addict
And if you couldn’t tell by now, I highly recommend the Pilot Custom 74. It is a great upgrade if you are making the leap from steel nibs, or entry-level fountain pens, and is high quality for those of us who have many pens in their collection already. The Custom 74 is a good choice no matter where you are in your fountain pen journey
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
What pen gave you the most buyer's remorse? The least?
It’s still not my favorite nib, but it’s getting better with age. Least buyer’s remorse..... probably my Franklin Christoph Model 20P, maybe my Parker 51 Vac, or most recently my Pilot Custom 74 SF. Each of these pens feels like a screaming deal for the quality they offer.
NegativeNegative
22
armevans
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Awesome Service - Great Pen
Amazingly comfortable pen. Little tough to clean between ink changes but so far one of the top 5 pens I’ve used.
5/5
Scott H.
9 months ago
penboutique.com
Read more
I got me a Pilot Custom 74 in EF from Pensachi for Christmas, and it's driving me NUTS. I want to love it, but on upstrokes and rightstrokes it is very scratchy, dry, and has a certain "drag" to it, which makes for a very unpleasant writing experience. The nibs seem to be aligned properly, and I have already consorted to flushing with warm water, flossing with brass shims, and Richard Binder's techinque for increasing flow. All for naught - whatever small improvement there had been seemed to be undone again within minutes after the adjustment.
NegativeNegative
18
Dinkleberg2845
9 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more

Specs

Brand

PILOT

Age Range (Description)

Adult

Material

Leather