Nvidia GeForce GTX 980
B

Based on 99 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for gaming
  • Good price
  • Excellent performance
  • Very good cooling system
  • Easy to install and use

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Specs
Report an Error Graphics Processor GM204 Cores 2048 TMUs 128 ROPs 64 Memory Size 4 GB Memory Type GDDR5 Bus Width 256 bit GPU I/O Top Back PCB Front PCB Back Recommended Gaming Resolutions: 1920x1080 2560x1440 3840x2160 The GeForce GTX 980 was a high-end graphics card by NVIDIA, launched on September 19th, 2014. Built on the 28 nm process, and based on the GM204 graphics processor, in its GM204-400-A1 variant, the card supports DirectX 12.
PositivePositive
5 months ago
techpowerup.com
Read more
Half-Life: Alyx wins Game of the Year for Gamespot
Seriously, if you have a GTX 980 or better, it's absolutely worth it getting a $300 VR headset. You do NOT need a $1000 HMD. I played on a 1070 with a Rift S, and I honestly couldn't visually distinguish high from low settings, except that I would frame drop on high, so I turned it down to medium.
PositivePositive
79
GrammatonYHWH
reddit.com/r/pcgaming
Read more
Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Review
Nvidia's high-end, Maxwell-based card delivers the best performance available from a single-chip gaming graphics card to date, while sipping much less power than the current competition.
PositivePositive
Matt Safford
5 months ago
pcmag.com
Read more
Apple's M1 is up to 3.6x faster at training machine learning models
My small projects take 20 minutes to train on my CPU while they take like 1 minute on my old GTX 980 with CUDA. 3.6x faster is nice, but it just can't compare to a GPU that's so old you can get it for less than $100 used.
UserBenchmark: Nvidia GTX 980
GPU GTX 980Nvidia $500Bench 61%, 178,350 samples1x EDIT WITH CUSTOM PC BUILDER Value: 45% - Average Total price: $948. How Fast Is Your GPU?
PositivePositive
5 months ago
gpu.userbenchmark.com
Read more
MSI Care provide comprehensive service and support for your MSI devices. Enjoy free extended warranty, instant expert support, free pick-up and delivery of your devices, and many more benefits. Learn More >
PositivePositive
5 months ago
us.msi.com
Read more
* Sabrent Rocket 1TB Nvme. * GeForce GTX 980 - my super old card, as I'm still waiting for the new one to be delivered. Thought I put it in to install Windows and the drivers and be up and gaming when the new card arrives.
NegativeNegative
17
blacktarmac
reddit.com/r/buildapc
Read more
Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB Specs & Compare | GPUSpecs.com
The rating given by GPUSpecs The Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB is based on Maxwell 2.0 28 nm architecture and has 2048 CUDA CORES. It also has a base clock of 1126 MHz coupled with a boost clock of 1216 MHz
PositivePositive
5 months ago
gpuspecs.com
Read more
5 years and still going strong
I bought this card back in 2015 and its still working like magic. I never had any issues with it whatsoever! I used to be a AMD guy but after my r9 at the time pooped on me I changed to Nvidia and I can't be happy enough that I made the switch!!! I will be upgrading soon once the 3070/3080 comes bac...
5/5
Keng Her
2 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
I absolutely love the form factor and the fact that it's lightweight. It's super easy to carry around compared to most laptops and I really love that. After a while of owning this machine I decided I'd make use of an old GTX 980 I had, so I bought a Razer Core X to upgrade my laptop's graphics. The core actually works really well and it's really nice to be able to just plug it into the Razer Core and effectively convert the laptop into a sort of gaming rig (I use an external keyboard, mouse, screen, headphones etc).

Specs

Graphics Coprocessor

Nvidia GeForce

Brand

EVGA

Graphics Ram Size

4 GB

GPU Clock Speed

1266