Lamy AL-star
B

Based on 129 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for lefties
  • Grip is unique and comfortable
  • Scratchy nib makes for an unpleasant (and loud) writing experience
  • New limited edition Lamy AL-Star in Charged Green is absolutely beautiful

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Scratchy nib makes for an unpleasant (and loud) writing experience ...
Scratchy nib makes for an unpleasant (and loud) writing experience. The Lamy Safari line produces fountain pens that write so smoothly and I was expecting this one to write just as well. But it is so scratchy that I believe it is defective. I am returning it.
1/5
S. Gupta
5 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Lamy AL-Star Whitesilver Ballpoint Review — The Pen Addict
The lone construction difference between the AL-Star ballpoint and the Safari is that the Safari barrel unscrews right above the front nose cone, and the Al-Star unscrews between the grip section and the barrel. This doesn’t change the usability of the pen in the slightest. Writing-wise, I’m a Lamy ballpoint refill fan
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
\-Lamy Safari Demonstrator inked with Kala Inks Dig It. My mourning is so great that I can't bring myself to purchase these pens again or use any of the inks that were in those pens. The healing journaling and creative rituals that I created daily around these pens and inks during this difficult season of life provided a sense of grounded-ness that can never be replaced. I have lost something dear to me.
PositivePositive
140
joysdelight
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Lamy AL Star- Review — Duck's Doodles
Lamy has a reputation for making pens that could be classified as the workhorse of the pen industry, and for good reason. What it lacks in flashy design, it makes up for in reliability.Lamy AL Star comes in a range of colors, including blue-green, ocean blue, black and a limited edition pink
PositivePositive
4 months ago
ducksdoodles.com
Read more
Lamy al-star. When I purchased it on vacation in Vancouver (shout out to Vancouver pen shop) I was excited to try out the pen. Turns out it had a terrible nib. Scratchy to high heaven.
PositivePositive
25
PallyFire84
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Review: Lamy Al-Star Charged Green
It clearly is THE signature color for a Lamy pen for me. I’ve always favored the AL-Stars to the Safaris as well for the beautiful luster of the the anodized aluminum as well and the price increase for the aluminum is nominal for the added good looks.
PositivePositive
4 months ago
wellappointeddesk.com
Read more
There is no need for an ink bottle to have this big an opening
I would rather it be wide open and I know I can ink up any pen, or even dip an offset holder no problem than the ink bottles with an opening so narrow that I can't ink anything wider than a TWSBI or a Lamy Al-Star without an inkwell a syringe or something of the like.
NegativeNegative
23
niksoft
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
10 Reasons LAMY Al-Star is the Ideal Beginner’s Fountain Pen
As thank you notes go out, documents are signed, and grocery lists are scribbled down, the Al-Star becomes a facet of life that makes the little things more enjoyable, and it’s difficult to put a price on that quality.LAMY Al-Star in Bronze, Truphae Inc.10
PositivePositive
4 months ago
medium.com
Read more
* Lamy AL-star Fountain Pen Turmaline / Medium (But as I've seen in the thread this pen isn't very comfortable?). * Pilot Capless Decimo Fountain Pen Violet / Fine. * TWSBI Eco Fountain Pen Clear / Fine.
NeutralNeutral
21
NeuralPrincess4
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Lamy Al-Star Special Addition WhiteSilver Fountain Pen
As usual, I was totally satisfied with the color, service and quality of my purchase. I have been a many time purchaser and have been very satisfied each time.
5/5
Anonymous
6 months ago
penboutique.com
Read more

Specs

Sub Brand/Model

AL-Star

Finish

Black

Trim

Black

Nib Size

Medium