Diplomat Aero
B

Based on 42 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Weight and clarity of the nib
  • Closure is firm and secure
  • In many respects I
  • Been out for a good few years

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

The Diplomat Aero in Sunset Orange: A Review — The Pen Addict
Pros. The Diplomat Aero is a great example of German engineering. The pen looks flawless and the design is gorgeous
PositivePositive
4 months ago
penaddict.com
Read more
Great pen with solid feel
the weight and clarity of the nib. The pen writes easily andclearly. The closure is firm and secure.
4/5
Fritz
1 year ago
amazon.com
Read more
I tried my broad steel Diplomat Aero (my smoothest and favourite nib) on some Rhodia premium 90g and could NOT believe I was missing out on this otherworldly smoothness this WHOLE TIME?! I got a Rhodia webnotebook to use as my next journal and I finally got to start it tonight and I am so in love. It's so smooth, and I love how it shows off shading.
PositivePositive
90
ModestAmoeba
10 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
The Zeppelin Inspired Diplomat Aero Fountain Pen — Write Experience
The balance, despite the large metal body, without the cap posted, is better and feels reasonably neutral.Diplomat makes the Aero in some neat anodized colours - from mild to wild, including a flame finished variant.
NeutralNeutral
4 months ago
writeexperience.com
Read more
Been watching videos and reading reviews, and the Diplomat Aero seems to be up my alley without being $250+ dollars. A style I like, snappable cap for quick notes, durable, different nibs, etc.
PositivePositive
17
Lithak
7 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Pen Review: Diplomat Aero — The Gentleman Stationer
I tend to believe this, because of the two Diplomat pens I own - the Aero and the lower-priced Diplomat Esteem - both write much better than stock JoWo nibs that I've purchased from other sources. These nibs clearly have been tuned.
I used to have a Diplomat Aero in Fine that was one of the best writing nibs I ever had. I had read that their nibs were made by JoWo but hand tuned in-house by Diplomat. I believed it because it wrote that well.
NegativeNegative
10
GluteusMax
4 months ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Diplomat Aero
Pilot Vanishing Point, Monteverde Impressa Delux, Sailor Pro Gear, Sailor 1911L, Diplomat Aero, Pelikan m800, Pilot Custom 74, Franklin-Christoph 03, Lamy Al-Star, Franklin-Christoph 45. Wrap-Up I sort of thought that this would be a "men's pen" based on the size and weight. Surprisingly, the people who've liked it the most are a couple of the folks in the eyeglass shop
PositivePositive
4 months ago
http:
Read more
I need help with my next pen! (Excuse the lengthiness)
If you'd like to push the budget a little (I'm not sure what range you're comfortable with) I'd also recommend checking out the Lamy Scala (which, considering its nib may be a bit on the overpriced side, but I love this pen so much I personally was OK with it) or.... and this is definitely not on the slim side... a Diplomat Aero. This one is *hefty*; it was one of my first heavier pens and I love the way it feels in hand. I'd also throw Namisu and Karas Kustoms in the ring, just because!
PositivePositive
9
whatsinmypen
1 year ago
reddit.com/r/fountainpens
Read more
Diplomat Aero
It is different, but I am not a fan as I find it awkward to slide the top off and do not see this as being practical if you are the sort of person who uses the boxes pens come in to carry them around and protect them. Fortunately most of us just store or discard the packaging. Presently the regular Diplomat Aero is ~£170 from UK retailers for the steel nib version and £330 with the gold
NegativeNegative
4 months ago
dappr.net
Read more

Specs

Cap can post

Yes

Cap Mechanism

Snap Cap

Complimentary

Packaged in a Gift Box

Dimensions

5.5" L x 0.6" D