Tokaido
B

Based on 60 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Simple to learn and play
  • A unique movement twist is thrown in
  • Theme of the game is "Zen"
  • Game is a combination of the Game of Life and Parcheesi

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment
Have you owned this product?
Write an Exit Review

Top reviews

Tokaido Game Review – Meeple Mountain
My only drawback is the sameness. Asymmetric travelers only take you so far and while multiple strategies can be employed and changed on the fly, the trek can start to feel repetitive after a handful of plays. The play time diffuses that somewhat, and Tokaido is a rarity where the suggested time on the box (45 minutes) may actually be longer than the game requires
NeutralNeutral
3 months ago
meeplemountain.com
Read more
**Tokaido Collectors Edition** relaxing pastels, and those metal coins!. **Roam** - Ryan Laukat art is always great, but the square wooden pieces with rounded corners, and the color scheme for the player colors, are also surprisingly satisfying.
PositivePositive
91
tehsideburns
reddit.com/r/boardgames
Read more
Life, Parcheesi, and a journey along Tokai-do
A review for Tokaido requires a discussion on the theme and art, and a discussion on the mechanics. Let's start with the mechanics. Tokaido is an odd combination of the Game of Life and Parcheesi, with a unique movement twist thrown in. Tokaido is based on Tokai-do, an old road that runs between Kyo...
5/5
Haon the Great
4 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
Tokaido Review
Final Score: 3.5 Stars – An easy-to-learn set collection game, which can be as peaceful or as nasty as the players allow it to be.
PositivePositive
3 months ago
boardgamequest.com
Read more
Review: Tokaido - Shut Up & Sit Down
Quinns: Still, we’re going to recommend Tokaido. It’s shiny, svelte and superbly realised. It’s not Bauza’s best, a title that is still claimed by Ghost Stori-Paul: Seven Wonde-Quinns: But it IS a fine game
PositivePositive
3 months ago
shutupandsitdown.com
Read more
Review: Tokaido App Review - 8bit Meeple
Tokaido looks fantastic, it really does, the team at Fun Forge have done a great job not only bringing the game to our devices but exceeding the aesthetic of the physical game with a charming and cute game that breezes along as lightly as the gameplay and strategy itself. That aside the game feels to me like going through the motions from turn one until the last, there’s rarely more strategy than simply going to the next available space for you and by the time I’m finished I can’t seem to understand why I bothered. Tokaido is a calm and beautiful game but might just be too calm to actually make it any fun
NeutralNeutral
3 months ago
8bitmeeple.com
Read more
A new game night staple
Tokaido is one of the loveliest games I’ve ever come across. It seemed complicated at first, but it’s really quite simple. There’s nothing stressful about it and everyone feels accomplished at the end, and yet the strategy keeps you engaged from start to finish. Couldn’t recommend it enough!
5/5
little bit
4 years ago
amazon.com
Read more
youtube
Tokaido Review - with the Chief
So my experience with it is just mmm perfect and it's light so that I can play with folks that would normally play games or maybe a spouse doesn't play games. But we want to have a couple over the house, but it's just an elegant, sweet game, and you know I rave about it. It's I've played a lot of games and when I first played this, it just felt unique and it somehow manages to be competitive without feeling that way at all
PositivePositive
The Dice Tower
3 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
youtube
Tokaido Crossroads Review - with Tom and Zee
Someone gets in the gaming matsukata they buy this like gaming, it's bigger than I thought so. There's that possibility anyway, it's still very there's a lot of expansion here really for such a small box right, if you like, Tokaido and one it more extravagant a plus, if you're looking for more the same play it first, I think before you buy it right, angry Crossroads thanks so much for watching the diced.
NeutralNeutral
The Dice Tower
3 months ago
youtube.com
Read more
Delivers a relaxing feeling
Tokaido is a relatively simple game that gives you a very relaxing feeling while playing. We'll often play it after a heavier game just to relax a bit. The rules are very straighforward. Each player is a character with a special ability that will help you when you stop at specific spaces as you trav...
5/5
MPatoka
4 years ago
amazon.com
Read more

Specs

Brand

Funforge

Material

Cardboard

Genre

Strategy

Number of Players

2 to 5